Public Service Guide

How to become a corrections officer in Ohio

The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (ODRC) hires state corrections officers under the title Correction Officer (class 46531). New officers start at $51,750 a year, rising to $68,078.

Pay

Starting salary$51,750
Top of scale$68,078
Scale effective2026-07

OCSEA pay range 'CO': Step 1 $24.88/hr ($51,750) to Step 8 $32.73/hr ($68,078), annual figures as printed in the DAS table. Step timing not stated in the table.

Source:[dam.assets.ohio.gov]

Requirements

Source:[dam.assets.ohio.gov]

Hiring process

  1. Apply online for a posted ODRC Correction Officer vacancy
  2. Pass the correction officer assessment
  3. Hire, then complete department pre-service training and firearms course

Source:[dam.assets.ohio.gov]

Entrance exam

Correction officer assessment. Required for ODRC applicants unless passed within the past 24 months or previously certified as an ODRC correction officer.[dam.assets.ohio.gov]

Academy

Length not published. Class spec requires completing department-mandated pre-service training and firearms training; length not stated in an official source found.[dam.assets.ohio.gov]

Pension and retirement

New hires are Group C. ODRC correction officers are not in the OPERS law enforcement division (that applies to officers whose primary duty is enforcing the law); no official source found placing them there.

Source:[opers.org]

Checked against official sources on 2026-10-23. Pay plans change; confirm with the employer before applying.