How to become a probation and parole officer in Ohio
The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (ODRC), Adult Parole Authority hires state probation and parole officers under the title Parole Officer (class 69811). New probation and parole officers start at $57,158 a year, rising to $71,448.
Pay
| Starting salary | $57,158 |
|---|---|
| Top of scale | $71,448 |
| Scale effective | 2026-07 |
Class spec 69811 (eff. 11/03/2024) assigns pay range 10, bargaining unit 012 (SEIU/1199). FY27 1199 pay table (rates effective July 2026), range 10: Step 1 $27.48/hr ($57,158) through Step 6 $34.35/hr ($71,448), annual figures as printed. Step timing not stated in the table.
Source:[dam.assets.ohio.gov]
Pay for this work across Ohio
Federal survey figures for probation officers and correctional treatment specialists in Ohio, counting every employer in the state, public and private, so they differ from the state's own pay scale above.
| People in this work | 3,310 |
|---|---|
| Lower pay (10th percentile) | $46,480 |
| Median pay | $61,120 |
| Higher pay (90th percentile) | $79,640 |
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025, state estimates (all employers)[bls.gov]
Requirements
- Education: Bachelor's degree from accredited educational institution; or associate degree from accredited educational institution and 2 yrs. exp. in criminal justice, corrections, law enforcement, social service or related field; or equivalent.
- No legal prohibition against carrying firearms
- Valid driver's license (and proof of financial responsibility to remain in the class)
- ODRC applicants must pass the parole officer assessment (or have passed it within the past 12 months), unless previously certified as an ODRC parole officer
- 365-day probationary period
- Must maintain unarmed self-defense, firearms and pepper spray certification
- Adult probation is run by counties (common pleas courts); county adult probation officers hired after Jan. 1, 2014 must complete the Supreme Court of Ohio introductory training program (18 courses) within one year of hire, under standards set by the Adult Parole Authority with the Supreme Court (R.C. 2301.271)
Source:[dam.assets.ohio.gov]
Hiring process
- Apply online for a posted ODRC Parole Officer vacancy
- Pass the parole officer assessment
- Hire, then complete pre-service training and the Adult Parole Authority parole officer orientation school
- Firearms, unarmed self-defense and pepper spray certification
Source:[dam.assets.ohio.gov]
Entrance exam
Parole officer assessment. Required for ODRC applicants unless passed within the past 12 months or previously certified as an ODRC parole officer.[dam.assets.ohio.gov]
Academy
Length not published. Class spec requires pre-service training and the Adult Parole Authority parole officer orientation school; length not stated in an official source found. County probation officers: Supreme Court of Ohio introductory program within one year of hire.[supremecourt.ohio.gov]
Pension and retirement
- Plan: Ohio Public Employees Retirement System (OPERS), Traditional Pension Plan, Group C, State division
- Benefit formula: 2.2% of FAS × first 35 years of service, plus 2.5% of FAS for each year over 35; FAS = average of five highest calendar years or last 60 months, whichever is greater; capped at 100% of FAS
- When you can retire: Unreduced: age 55 with 32 years, or age 67 with 5 years
- Social Security: no, this job is not covered
OPERS: "As a member of OPERS, you do not pay into Social Security." Parole officers are not listed in the OPERS law enforcement/public safety leaflet; State division assumed for new hires.
Source:[opers.org]