How to become a corrections officer in Kansas
The Kansas Department of Corrections hires state corrections officers under the title Corrections Officer I (A). New officers start at $48,963 a year, rising to $63,981. You must be at least 18.
Pay
| Starting salary | $48,963 |
|---|---|
| Top of scale | $63,981 |
| Scale effective | 2026-06-07 |
KDOC lists beginning pay for the entry Corrections Officer IA at $23.54/hour or $48,963.20/year. CO I(A) is pay grade 24 (job code 8109L1); $23.54 is step 16 of grade 24 in the Kansas Civil Service Basic Pay Plan effective June 7, 2026. Top of grade 24 = step 27 at $30.76/hr x 2080 = $63,980.80. Certified officers can move to CO I(B), pay grade 25. Years between steps not stated.
Source:[doc.ks.gov]
Requirements
- Minimum age: 18
- Education: High school diploma or equivalent
- Valid driver's license
- No felony conviction
- No misdemeanor or felony domestic violence conviction
- No DUI conviction in the past 24 months
- No adult misdemeanor drug use/possession conviction in the past 60 months
- No pending charges, indictments or outstanding warrants
- One-year probationary period
Source:[doc.ks.gov]
Hiring process
- Online application
- Employment and background check
- Written Corrections Officer Test
- Conditional offer
- Drug test, TB screen and physical exam
- Basic Corrections Officer training
Source:[doc.ks.gov]
Entrance exam
Corrections Officer Test. Written test assessing job aptitude.[doc.ks.gov]
Academy
Length not published, paid. CO I(A) employees become certified Corrections Officers by completing the required basic Corrections Officer training program; length not stated on KDOC's page.[admin.ks.gov]
Pension and retirement
- Plan: Kansas Public Employees Retirement System (KPERS), KPERS-Correctional (KPERS 2 design)
- Benefit formula: 1.85% × final average salary × years of participating service (members first employed on or after July 1, 2009, retiring on or after July 1, 2012; K.S.A. 74-49,205)
- Social Security: yes, you also pay in
Source:[kspers.gov]
Checked against official sources on 2026-10-23. Pay plans change; confirm with the employer before applying.