How to become a state trooper in Kansas
The Kansas Highway Patrol hires state troopers under the title Trooper (Probationary Trooper after academy graduation). New state troopers start at $68,869 a year, rising to $72,301 after about 4 years. You must be at least 21.
Pay
| Starting salary | $68,869 |
|---|---|
| Top of scale | $72,301 |
| Years to top | 4 |
| Scale effective | 2026 |
Top = the Trooper rank's highest step ($34.76/hr × 2,080) after 4–5 years in rank; Master and Technical Trooper are promotions with higher pay.
Source:[kansashighwaypatrol.gov]
Pay for this work across Kansas
Federal survey figures for police and sheriff's patrol officers in Kansas, counting every employer in the state, public and private, so they differ from the state's own pay scale above.
| People in this work | 6,130 |
|---|---|
| Lower pay (10th percentile) | $42,040 |
| Median pay | $59,230 |
| Higher pay (90th percentile) | $90,530 |
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025, state estimates (all employers)[bls.gov]
Requirements
- Minimum age: 21
- Education: High school diploma or GED
- Citizenship: U.S. citizen
- At least 21 years of age when recruit training begins
- Free of conviction of any crime punishable by imprisonment in a federal or state penitentiary
- Vision 20/40 corrected; hearing 20 dB at 500/1000/2000 Hz and 30 dB at 3000 Hz
- Valid U.S. driver's license
- Willing to live and work anywhere in Kansas (residency requests considered)
- Drug screening and physical exam at appointment; tattoo policy applies
Source:[kansashighwaypatrol.gov]
Hiring process
- Apply through the State of Kansas Employment Center (return three emailed documents within 7 days)
- Stanard online test
- Preliminary interview (remote via Teams)
- Polygraph examination (Topeka or Salina)
- Command staff review of polygraph; conditional offer of employment
- Background investigation (web-based, Guardian Alliance) and command staff review
- Command staff interview at General Headquarters, Topeka
- Assessments: psychological exam (telehealth), physical exam, physical agility test (Salina)
- Command staff final review
- Final offer of employment
- 21-week academy in Salina
Source:[kansashighwaypatrol.gov]
Academy
21 weeks, paid. KHP Training Academy, Salina. Trainees are paid as Trooper Trainees during the academy (posting range starts at $30.03/hr). After graduation, 560 hours of field training (lateral transfers at least 400). Residential status not stated.[kansashighwaypatrol.gov]
Pension and retirement
- Plan: Kansas Police and Firemen's Retirement System (KP&F), Tier II
- Benefit formula: Final average salary × 2.5% × years of service; maximum benefit 90% of FAS; FAS = three highest of last five years (members joining on/after July 1, 1993)
- When you can retire: Tier II full benefits: age 50 with 25 years, age 55 with 20 years, or age 60 with 15 years; reduced early retirement at age 50 with 20 years (0.4% per month under 55)
Member contribution 7.15%. KPERS notes some public safety positions are not covered by Social Security; trooper coverage not stated. KHP membership in KP&F not stated on the KHP recruiting pages fetched.
Source:[kspers.gov]