Public Service Guide

How to become a probation and parole officer in Oklahoma

The Oklahoma Department of Corrections (ODOC), Probation and Parole Services hires state probation and parole officers under the title Probation and Parole Officer I (job family levels I-III). New probation and parole officers start at $48,045 a year, rising to $54,701 after about 4 years. You must be at least 21.

Pay

Starting salary$48,045
Top of scale$54,701
Years to top4
Scale effective2026-10

ODOC: P&P Officer $48,044.52, increases to $50,834.80 after two years, increases to $54,700.76 after two additional years. State postings list Level I $48,044.52, Level II $50,834.80, Level III $54,700.76, "non-negotiable". Level II/III also carry added experience requirements, so the top figure is the Level III rate. Plus longevity pay (separate ODOC page).

Source:[oklahoma.gov]

Pay for this work across Oklahoma

Federal survey figures for probation officers and correctional treatment specialists in Oklahoma, counting every employer in the state, public and private, so they differ from the state's own pay scale above.

People in this work870
Lower pay (10th percentile)$38,310
Median pay$50,380
Higher pay (90th percentile)$62,980

Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025, state estimates (all employers)[bls.gov]

Requirements

  • Minimum age: 21
  • Education: Level I (57 O.S. 515): A bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university including at least twenty-four semester hours in any combination of psychology, sociology, social work, criminology, education, criminal justice administration, penology or police science. Level II adds two years (Level III four years) of correctional casework experience; a master's degree in those fields may substitute for one year only.
  • Citizenship: U.S. citizen or resident alien (peace officer standard under 70 O.S. 3311)
  • Valid driver's license; able to perform job-related travel
  • Drug testing
  • Must meet all training and qualifications for peace officers in 70 O.S. 3311, incl. psychological or physical testing required to complete a basic police course or be certified as a peace officer (57 O.S. 515)
  • No felony conviction (nonviolent felony or moral-turpitude crime only if fully pardoned); not on the sex offender registry; no misdemeanor domestic violence conviction or qualifying protective order; no dishonorable discharge

Source:[oklegislature.gov]

Hiring process

  1. Apply on the State of Oklahoma Workday jobs site and upload transcript
  2. Interview
  3. Drug test and peace-officer eligibility screening (psychological/physical testing per 70 O.S. 3311)
  4. Peace officer training

Source:[okgov.wd1.myworkdayjobs.com]

Academy

Length not published. Officers must meet the peace officer training requirements of 70 O.S. 3311 (CLEET); the course length for P&P officers is not stated in the official sources found.[okgov.wd1.myworkdayjobs.com]

Pension and retirement

  • Plan: Oklahoma Public Employees Retirement System (OPERS), hazardous duty provisions
  • Benefit formula: Final Average Compensation × Years of Service Credit × Computation Factor; 2.5% factor for up to 20 whole years of hazardous duty service, standard rate (2% for most members) for other service
  • When you can retire: Hazardous duty members may retire after 20 full years of full-time-equivalent hazardous duty employment, in addition to the regular age and service requirements

OPERS lists Department of Corrections "Probation and Parole Officer" as a hazardous duty position. Hazardous duty members contribute 8% for their first 20 years of hazardous duty service. Whether new hires are in the defined benefit plan or Pathfinder is not stated on that page.

Source:[opers.ok.gov]

All government jobs in Oklahoma · Probation and Parole Officer in other states · Exams and practice tests

Checked against official sources on 2026-10-27. Pay plans change; confirm with the employer before applying.